Elk NetworkWorld Champion Elk Callers Crowned

News Releases | December 11, 2014

December 11, 2014

World Champion Elk Callers Crowned

LAS VEGAS—Amateur and professional elk callers from California, Idaho, Nevada and Oregon are the new world champions for 2014.

Competitors from four other states and two Canadian provinces also received honors.

The 2014 World Elk Calling Championships, sponsored by the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation (RMEF) and Leupold, were held during the annual RMEF convention and expo, which concluded Dec. 7 in Las Vegas.


Professional Division
 1. Corey Jacobsen, Boise, Ida.
 2. Bryan Langley, McMinnville, Ore.
 3. Al Morris, Springville, Utah
 4. Matt Brimmer, Keno, Ore.
 5. Jason Phelps, Pe Ell, Wash.
 6. Lance Sellers, Boise, Ida.

Men’s Division
 1. Dirk Durham, Moscow, Ida.
 2. Shane Donner, Calgary, Alta.
 3. Greg Hubbell Jr., Belmont, Calif.
 4. Kevin Akers, Oregon City, Ore.
 5. Tom Gonzales, Phoenix, Ariz.
 6. Travis Jones, Stevensville, Mont.

Women’s Division
 1. Misty Jacobsen, Del Ray Oaks, Calif.
 2. Kristy Titus, Prineville, Ore.
 3. Amy Morris, Springville, Utah

Natural Voice Division
 1. William Card, Fallon, Nev.
 2. Trent Penrod, Lakeside, Ariz.
 3. Sam Jacobsen, Boise, Ida.

Youth Division
 1. Brayden Langley, McMinnville, Ore.
 2. Austin Rose, Boise, Ida.
 3. Russell Nemetchek, Saskatoon, Sask.
 4. Isaac Jacobsen, Boise, Ida.

Pee Wee Division
 1. Sutton Callaway, Maricopa, Calif.
 2. Kailee Brimmer, Keno, Ore.
 3. Jessi Jacobsen, Boise, Ida.

The event helps raise awareness of RMEF elk, habitat and conservation initiatives.

In the competition, callers have 30-45 seconds to mimic cow elk sounds, followed by bull sounds. Most callers blow across a latex reed placed inside the mouth. In the natural-voice division, however, no calling devices are allowed. A variety of plastic tubes are used like megaphones, giving the sounds realistic resonance. A panel of judges scores each competitor anonymously.

Winners received prizes and cash ranging from $500 to $2,500.